Good network expert needed...

Trinidad

I have been using EFBv2 for several years and did not change anything to my settings, neither did I change any Windows settings on my server and client PC. I made a flight with MSFS yesterday with no issue, EFB worked fine.

This morning I fired up MSFS, EFB Server, and EFB Client. But the Client would not be able to connect to the Server. Tired of trying to figure what happened, I gave up and started my flight all the same without EFB, but I left it open with the black screen. After a while I realised that having no map available to fly the DC6 was not exactly wise and I closed MSFS when I was climbing to my flight level.

I reopened MSFS and again Server and Client, no luck, black screen, connection impossible. I checked if my settings on the Server PC had been reset, nope, on the Client, nope. I reintroduced the IP code of my Server on the Client settings, no connection... Then I changed the IP with the name of my Server PC and ... it worked BUT amazingly (MSFS being closed at that time), EFB showed me the map of the airport I just took off from and the exact location where I had abandoned my flight a few miles away from the runway on my climb!!!

How can this be since my Client "could not connect to the Server" at that time? Can anyone explain this mystery in layman terms please?

Hi Jean-Claude

If I understand what you described above then the EFB Server location (on Client side) was given as an IP-address, not as a computer name. After the connection between the Client and the Server did not work, you changed the Server location from 'IP-address' to 'computer name', then the connection worked. Am I right so far?

A possible explanation could be as follows (I'm trying to explain it in layman terms):