EFB and SimConnect - what's the deal?

Forgive me for a possibly very stupid question but does running EFB in a 2 PCs setup actually require SimConnect? Or to make my question a little bit more detailed, does it require the SimConnect.cfg file on the Display Unit PC and the SimConnect.xml on the Data Provider PC both fully correctly configured with IP address etc?

Reason I ask is I have been running EFB for many years now, first in FSX and lately in P3D2.5. After starting to suffer from stuttering issues in P3D 30-60 minutes into a flight I suspected a SimConnect issue where SimConnect maybe was flooded since I'm also using other addons requiring SimConnect such as ActiveSky Next. Someone gave me the tip to check what version(s) of SimConnect I have installed since the information was having multiple versions of SimConnect installed could cause stutters and possibly other issues as well.

So for this reason I decided to check out SimConnect in a little bit more detail, did this as part of a clean reinstall of P3Dv2.5 trying to sort the stuttering issues I've experienced. What I found was that after installing P3Dv2.5 I only had one version of SimConnect installed on my P3D PC called Microsoft EFB SimConnect Client v1.0.20.0. This version was apparently installed by the P3Dv2.5 installation program. I later installed vPilot (the VATSIM pilot client) which didn't start successfully complaining about a missing SimConnect version called Microsoft Flight Simulator SimConnect Client v10.0.61259.0. After installing this version of SimConnect on my P3D PC where also the data provider of EFB resides vPilot started successfully and all was good. On my second PC where I'm running the EFB DU I already had Microsoft Flight Simulator SimConnect Client v10.0.61259.0 installed and that's the only version of SimConnect on my second PC.